Peace River Wildlife Center at Ponce de Leon Park. Punta Gorda, Florida.

On my recent trip to Florida, I had the opportunity to visit Peace River Wildlife Center. (Thank you to my dads’s friends Ron and Joy for introducing us to PRWC). I loved every minute of my time there and I cannot wait to return on my next visit. I am amazed and inspired by what they have been able to accomplish with the very limited resources available. For bird and wildlife lovers, there are numerous opportunities to show your support.

From their website:
“The mission of the Peace River Wildlife Center is to treat and rehabilitate injured and orphaned native Florida wildlife (except venomous snakes) and, if possible, to return them to the wild.

If they cannot be returned to their natural habitat due to sustained non life-threatening physical limitations, a permanent home shall be provided by the Center. We also seek to inform the public about native Florida wildlife and how to co-exist with these beautiful creatures successfully through formal educational outreach activities.”

You can learn more at: http://www.peaceriverwildlifecenter.com.

Leave a Reply

