“Challah-lujah”

"Challah-lujah""

I set a goal for myself this winter to learn how to make fresh bread.  The art and process of making many things, including bread, are to often being forgotten in a fast paced western world.  Human beings have been making bread for over 30,000 years.  The ingredients in a loaf of bread have gone from grain paste to wheat and barley to the more than 30 ingredients that come in a loaf of store-bought bread today (many of which I cannot begin to pronounce).   Truth be told, a simple loaf of bread only requires 4 ingredients!

I have invested in Peter Reinhart’s artisan breads every day and it has been a great adventure to read this book.  Yes it’s true…there is no real “fast” way to make a great loaf of artisan bread, however, the process just requires planning.  To me, there is no greater place to invest time and energy than on what we feed our bodies.  I really enjoy being in the kitchen and learning new skills. The real reward comes in sharing your creation with friends and family.   I realize that life is crazy!  It is often impossible to find balance.  If you simply just don’t have the time to make bread I encourage you to buy bread from a bakery where you will find delicious bread made with quality ingredients. 

Thank you to my dear friend Sharon for introducing me to Challah.  We were chatting on the phone one day and she was SHOCKED to hear that I had never heard of or tasted Challah.  I learned that Challah is a very special Jewish bread that is eaten on the Sabbath and on holidays.  I came home from work a few days after our Challah discussion to find a box from Sharon.  I opened this box and inside was the most beautiful loaf of bread I have ever seen.  Her thoughtfulness made my day.  Challah is a remarkable golden color due to the heavy use of egg and is often sweetened slightly with sugar, honey, or agave nectar and topped with sesame and poppy seeds.   Delicious!  The picture above is my first loaf of Challah bread.  It was with great pleasure that I was able to return the gift by sharing this loaf of bread with Sharon and her family. 

“Challah-lujah” to friendships, to feeding our bodies and souls, to giving, and to constant learning.

One Response to ““Challah-lujah””

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;
    ) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

